Maryland joins multi state Lawsuit against Emergency Declaration

Annapolis, Maryland (Arundel News Network) – Maryland’s Attorney General Brian Frosh has announced that the state has joined a 16 State Lawsuit against President Trump’s emergency declaration. The commonwealth of Virginia has also joined the lawsuit. Attorney General Frosh announced that they were joining the lawsuit on Monday.

“There is no justification to declare a national emergency at our southern border,” Maryland Attorney  Frosh stated in a statement posted on the Agency’s website. He continued in his posted statement “The basis for President Trump’s declaration is fabricated. It is an illegal power grab and an abuse of executive authority.”

President Trump announced the emergency declaration late last week to fulfill his promise of completing the wall. He said that it could be done over a longer period of time but he wanted it done faster.

In addition to Maryland and Virginia, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York and Oregon. California initially filed the lawsuit against President Trump.

We have attached the full complaint filed in the United States District Court for the Northern District of California.

Picture provided by Gregory Bull/Associated Press


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.